top of page

BCS Educator Wins Milken Award


Since attending J.H. Phillips Academy as a child, Korri Cunningham had always dreamed of becoming a teacher. Now, as International Baccalaureate Coordinator at the very same school, she has earned her place as one of the best in the nation.

Cunningham received the prestigious Milken Educator Award, considered by many to be the Oscar of teaching, during an assembly at the school today. She is Alabama’s sole winner for the 2023-24 school year. The award includes a $25,000 gift for Cunningham to spend as she pleases!

Phillips students, teachers, and administrators were on hand in the Rev. Fred L.Shuttlesworth Auditorium for the surprise announcement. Alabama State Superintendent of Education Dr. Eric G. Mackey, Alabama State Board of Education District 4 Representative Dr. Yvette M. Richardson, Mike Raita (Regional Director for Sen. Tommy Tuberville), State Rep. Patrick Sellers, Birmingham City Schools Superintendent Dr. Mark Sullivan, and Birmingham Board of Education members Jason Meadows, Sherman Collins, Derrick Billups, Leticia Watkins, James Sullivan, and Mary Boehm, also were present for the event, along with Milken Educator Awards Vice President Stephanie Bishop. Several past Milken Award winners were on stage to celebrate along with Cunningham, including BCS Instructional Superintendent Dr. Charles Willis and retired BCS educator Gloria Jemison.



bottom of page